Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gelastic Seizures.

New Community Member

Unhappy Gelastic Seizures.

Hi!! I'm really new to this, so please excuse me if I seem to ramble on!! Anyways, I'm trying to see if anyone on here has ever heard of or knows someone who suffers from Gelastic Seizures? My 12yr old son has just been diagnosed with Epilepsy and suffers from this type of seizure. We are pretty shocked and in disbelief. He has never had any type of medical condition at all. He has been an overall healthy child. Last Oct, he started to have what seemed like Anxiety attacks. He would feel slightly lightheaded, have changes in his breathing and also felt a bit of what he explained as an adreneline rush, sorta. We made an appointment with his pediatrician who then sent him to a cardiologist. The cardiologist didnt seem to find anything at all. His problem continued. It also progressed into something very strange. He would have the same strange feeling as he did before but then it would be followed by a forced laugh, which lasted just a few moments. He was unable to talk during these " Episodes". It would happen about 3 to 4 times a day. Unprovoked. So, back to the pediatrician we went. He recommended we take my son to a Neurologist. Long story short, he was admitted to the hospital and was given an EEG and MRI. The doctor told us he was suffering from seizures and that this type of seizure is really rare. Most of the time it is caused by a brain tumor or lesion. We were devastated!!! Good news, he didnt have either. So, WHAT is causing these?? They have put him on 1000mg Keppra in the morning and 1500mg at night. He has been on it for about 2 weeks. It hasnt helped at all. We are calling the Dr back next week to get his meds changed. I feel so bad for him. He is a walking zombie. His once happy care free attitude is gone. He wants to distance himself from his friends. We feel so helpless and lost........

Distinguished Community Member Earth Mother 2 Angels's Avatar