Thread: Struggling with recent TS diagnosis and effective treatments

New Community Member

Default Struggling with recent TS diagnosis and effective treatments

So, a bit of background: I'm a student with Tourette's completing an intensive 1-year master's program in social work while working to support myself. As a part of my studies, I must engage in a year-long internship, completing 21 hours a week of unpaid work at a prominent veteran's home in my area. I also work, so my schedule is extremely demanding and I don't often get the sleep I need. To top it off, I'm planning my wedding, which will be happening in June.

As a child, I had small non-interruptive tics like eyebrow scrunching, minor grunting, and eye-rolling. Since around sophomore year in university, I have rolled my shoulders repeatedly, which results in severe pain and muscle tension after hours of rolling. I have developed new tics, including sucking air, clicking my teeth, and sometimes grinding my teeth.

I started seeing a Neurologist over the summer, and have started receiving Botox treatments in my trapezius muscle, which is the main muscle responsible for my tic. However, these only last me 1.5-2 months before symptoms return. When symptoms are back, I fall into depression and struggle to keep my anxiety in check. I also exhibit textbook symptoms of Bipolar Type II, which involves depression and hypomania, which is a less dramatic version of the mania associated with Bipolar I. When I am experiencing a depressive period, I feel very hopeless and struggle with huge amounts of anxiety about what my life will be like if I cannot control the TS symptoms. My pain and anxiety/depression often leave me not wanting to go to work or internship, and I have lost money and required hours; I feel like I'm always playing catch-up.