BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives  

Go Back   BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives > Specific Neurological Conditions (A - L) > Lupus

Old 06-15-2007, 10:07 PM
New Community Member

Default Lupus is destroying me

I've been battling CNS vasculitis from lupus for 7 years. I've been through the chem with cytoxan infusions twice, numberous pulse steroids, plasmapheresis, steroids and all the rest to no avail. It keeps coming back!

I'm at the end of my rope, literally. I have SIADH from the cytoxan or the CNS lupus, so cytoxan is dicy for me, also it caused symptoms of cystitis last time. Too many oral steroids caused a devastating psychotic episode that landed me in a locked mental ward for 6 weeks. Plasmapheresis was just a stop=gap measure for me. I'm seriously depressed.

What I'm left with after all these treatments is relapsing transverse myelitis with severe spinal pain in my privates and tailbone and between my shoulder blades. Severe depression from the Transverse Myelitis. I read where it causes a chemical in the brain that causes depression during episodes. My mind doesn't feel right since my psychosis last year and I need to get back on anti-psychotic meds which do nothing for the depression.

I have no quality of life. This has harmed my family and marriage irreparably. My sons are grown and cannot take any more. Neither can I. I really feel like ending this misery for myself and loved ones.

If I could get into a clinical trial where they do stem cell transplant I'd jump at it but I have a f****** HMO which would rather see me dead than pay for that. Since the psych episode they have written EVERYTHING off to being all in my head, adding insult to injury.