BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives  

Go Back   BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives > Specific Neurological Conditions (A - L) > Gluten Sensitivity / Celiac Disease

Old 10-25-2009, 05:51 PM
Distinguished Community Member

Smile 10 month old baby

A really good friend of the family just had a baby girl 10 months ago and she is breast fed. I suspect that the mother has gluten sensitivity because of gasto problems, dental enamel problems, skin problems, and asthma. The mother still eats gluten ( has not been tested yet ) and has noticed blood streaks in the baby's stool almost from the begining. They just did a celiac blood test on the baby. I was wondering if anybody out there would know if it is too early to do a celiac blood test on a 10 month old? I would suspect so, but of course, I am no expert. Thanks in advance for any tips.
Old 10-25-2009, 10:16 PM

Default Testing 10 Month Old

Hi Can, my granddaughter that is now 11 YO has two DQ1 genes, she is NOT gluten free. She has asthma & other breathing problems, hives, rashes, overweight, & has lost all the enamel on all her teeth. She is constantly ill with colds, flu, ear infections, stomach upsets...

It certainly sounds like this mom could have a gluten problem & the baby as well. I would hope that the pedi has checked the blood in the baby's stool...

I hold slim to none hope that the baby's blood work will be positive for gluten. A few of those reasons would be: Did they order all the tests? Does the lab know how to process the tests? Did the baby eat enough gluten to actually get some antibodies that will show up? Probably not.

I believe that the real true test is to try the gluten free diet. If things get better then you have your answer. They could also get the gene test thru enterolab.com, which will test for all the genes, not just DQ2 & DQ8.
Old 10-25-2009, 11:26 PM