BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives  

Go Back   BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives > Specific Neurological Conditions (A - L) > Dystonia

Old 08-22-2007, 09:06 PM
New Community Member

Question vertigo/dizziness

HI. Has anyone experienced vertigo/dizziness? My Mom has PD w/ dystonia (or perhaps just dystonia, according to one doctor) and for the last 6 months has had severe symptoms of vertigo. She says it feels as if the floor is "soft" and "moving" which makes it very difficult to walk (in addition to the other difficulties from PD/dystonia). An ENT has ruled out an inner ear or related cause and believes it's a neurological problem, oscillopsy. Has anyone heard of or experienced this type of problem? Thank you!
Old 08-25-2007, 01:22 AM
Community Member

From all I'vr researched, vertigo is not usually a part of dystonia, but people with dystonia can suffer from other things just like the rest of the population. I'm not a doctor, and I don't really know, but a couple of things come to mind.

The first thing is medications. I've had trials of Parkinson's meds, and they make me feel dizzy and faint. Is she on any meds?

A friend of mine has really bad vertigo, and hers is associated with MS. MS has also been known to cause dystonia in some individuals. Has she had an MRI of the brain, and another one of the C-spine, to rule out this possibility?

Have you visited the Dystonia Medical Research Foundation? They have a lot of good information about dystonia. http://www.dystonia-foundation.org/

Hope you get some answers for your mom soon.
Firebird
Old 08-29-2007, 08:43 PM
New Community Member