BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives  

Go Back   BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives > Specific Neurological Conditions (A - L) > Child Neurology

Old 07-03-2007, 10:39 AM
Distinguished Community Member

Default Status Epilepticus

I have a question about this... I'm still learning so this is probably a stupid question...

How exactly do you know if your child is in status epilepticus with the type of seizures that Emeric has? Our neuro never said what type of seizure he's having other than generalized, but more specifically I would say they're atonic seizures. Just a brief flutter of the eye, a slight drop of the head, etc...

Well, this morning in less than 10 minutes I've noticed 7. They're almost one after another. He has done this before but only once that I can remember. If they continue this close all day I'll call but right now I'm just wondering how you classify status epilepticus?
Old 07-03-2007, 11:01 AM

When Rachel was dx w/ epilepsy (she doesn't have it, long story ) we were told that any single seizure lasting 10 minutes or more should be considered an emergency.

With clusters like what Emeric is having, I am not sure what the recommendation is, I would definately call the neuro's office if they continue to cluster.
Old 07-03-2007, 01:09 PM

Ava has had several episodes of complex partial status.
We have a written protocol for Ava.
A protocol I think is so important for any child that is prone to clusters & status.

I have learned the sooner you treat status or clusters ... the more effective the treatment is and the easier it is to stop those darn seizures.
Old 07-03-2007, 01:47 PM

There are no stupid questions when it comes to seizures. Heck, even the trained professionals are stumped with this stuff....