BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives  

Go Back   BrainTalk Communities 10/2006-8/2011 Archives > Specific Neurological Conditions (M - Z) > Spinal Disorders

Old 01-06-2008, 08:12 PM
Distinguished Community Member

Default FDA Fentanyl Warning

Interesting email from Dr. Baumbach included a warning about use of Fentanyl transdermal patches. This is an update (posted last month) to a 2005 advisory.

http://www.ispine.org/article-librar...tanyl-fda.html

I'm curious to hear from patch users. Were you told that running a fever of 102 or sunbathing with the patch on can cause dangerous levels of fentanyl to be delivered?

I hope this helps someone.

Mark
President: Global Patient Network, Inc., Founder: www.iSpine.org
Old 01-07-2008, 05:27 AM

wow, never got warned that, and thought I skimmed the paper when I tried the patch. Got off because I wanted to be able to skip doses on good days, so I'm no expert. Good for you to warn us so we can warn others.
Thanks,
Jane
1994 broke neck: misdx'd tendonitis! '97 titanium C5-7. Disability sez DX unclear! '99 neck pain worsens & headaches. 2003 jaw, neck, sinus inflammation to meninges & veins pop. Brain damage & daily agony! TMJ doc's mouthguard worse! 2010 Grindcare: PROVED diagnosis, REDUCED nightly clenching & daily headaches > 80%! PROVED not migraines (1-4% mis-dx'd?) Pain killers, Botox, muscle relaxants, help only temporary! EVIL to market Botox to bruxers - Grindcare cheaper, 100% sure dx, & works.
Old 01-07-2008, 09:44 AM

Yes, I was warned about that waay back when I started the patch a few years ago...its nothing new. Don't get me started on this topic...everytime I see this sort of stuff it makes me gnash my teeth. Proper education, from the physican all the way down to the consumer would save a WORLD of problems from occuring.