PDA

View Full Version : CSF leak & hydrocephalus?

Elizabeth S.
06-24-2008, 09:56 AM
Hi y'all, I posted this in the New Visitors section, and didnt get any replies yet, so I thought I might post it here and on the CSF leak forum too. Thanx! E

Hi! I'm a newbie wondering if anyone has similar experiences or wisdom for me. I've got a CSF leak into my L ear. I've got neurotologist and neoursurgeon on the case who deal with CSF frequently enough for my comfort. I'll be asking them some of these questions, but thought I'd do my homework first by asking you too. The question is if I also have hydrocephalus or just congenitally large ventricles. I've been asymptomaic for hydrocephalus (at least for the past several years--yes, maybe since the leak started in maybe 2002. Before that I did have some headaches, but no other problems). If I dont need a shunt, I dont want one. But I also dont want the surgery to repair the leak to fail because of hi pressure. I had a spinal tap last week that indicated normal CSF pressure, but with a leak, we all knew the reading could not be fully accurate (a hi pressure reading, however, would make us all think shunt).
Do ventricles expand and contract rapidly? That is, if my spinal tap showed normal CSF pressure, and my MRI and CT show enlarged ventricles, then can I hope that I just have asymptomatic (and non-problematic) ventriculomegaly (Is there such a thing)?

BTW, after years of a drippy ear (and being told that it wasnt CSF because the beta-2-transferrin test results were *mostly* negative :mad:), my CSF leak was identified (by a cisternogram) after I got bacterial (pneumococcal) meningitis last month from an ear infection (which I got because I accidentally got water in my ear showering and I have an ear tube--to drain the liquid we now know is CSF).